What to pack for a camping trip

Sadly it is currently too cold (read: I am a wuss) for me to scooter-camp right now.  I’m still riding though!  I wanted to share the tips I learned from the Camp Byrch rally trip (completed in September), specifically what to pack, and how to pack it.

Top tip: wear earplugs when traveling at high speeds for long distances.

I previously did a super-short post about the trip, which was mostly useful for the collection of links from other people’s trips.  My husband and I did the trip from Columbus to Yellow Springs in about 2 hours.  We took Broad Street, aka State Route 40.  The wind was hellacious, and a fierce introduction to “slow highway” riding.  I estimate my top speed (real) was about 67 mph, but I wouldn’t want to go at that speed for very long.  For most of the ride I was going about 55 mph.

With 2 scooters we could pack a lot of things, and we were only staying for the weekend.  Besides our clothes, we decided we should take the following:

1. camping tent.  We could have paid more for a cabin, but we wanted to see if we could “rough it.”

2. air mattress with battery-powered compressor to fill it up.  We decided this would be better than sleeping bags, partly because sleeping bags are so bulky.

3. sleeping pad (roll up) for me.  He refused one, but I wanted one.

4. two little pillows, which actually came with a sleeping bag we bought a few years ago.  They are machine washable.

5. No cooking stuff.  We are not hardcore-campers, obviously.  We thought it would be easier to eat at restaurants, or just get simple stuff from a grocery store.

6. Typical “survival” stuff.  Knives, duct tape, clothes pins, extra pairs of glasses (you can’t ride if you can’t see!), mirror, walkie-talkies, flashlight, canteens, glow sticks, first aid kit, wrench to adjust mirrors.

7. Towels!  We almost forgot these, but while we had access to a shower it’s no hotel so bring your own towels.

We completed succeeded in packing the right stuff.  Despite the rain, foggy weather, and my fight with a serious cold, we felt really confident after our camping weekend.  As a kid I had a fascination with camping and survival type things, until I learned that spiders and cold weather and more spiders and leaky tents and spooky wilderness noises were involved.  But re-attempting it and feeling successful as an adult felt good.  There’s something really inspiring about knowing that if we had to, we could pack up in say 2 hours and take off and be OK for a few days.  (Assuming there are still grocery stores and gas stations and it wasn’t some sort of zombie apocalypse.)

We are planning more trips in the future, perhaps a long trip from Columbus to Chicago, stopping and camping a few times along the way.  Next week I will highlight HOW to pack for trips like this.  Photos in that one, I promise.

5 responses to “What to pack for a camping trip

  1. I love the idea of “roughing it” in the new family size camping tents. Over the last several years these things have gotten huge and loaded with amenities all for less than a day or two in a decent hotel. I’ve even seen some of the tents with built in solar panels for charging electric devices. Thanks for the list.

  2. Thanks guys, good info.

  3. I have read some posts and i am going to add this blog to my RSS feed reader.

Leave a Reply

