Scooters and Ska

For kicks I’m moving the usual “Friday fun video” post to Wednesday.

There’s a connection between scooters and ska.  I don’t know all the details, but if you are surprised, just trust me.  (Something about the time frames in England, I bet, but I’m not getting into the whole Mod vs. Rocker thing.  I don’t even know about all that!)
stella scooterchecker pattern  The two-tone checker pattern is all over ska stuff.  Again, if you’re surprised, just trust me.  (Sadly I don’t have the time or knowledge to have a music-specific blog.  Can anyone recommend a good ethnomusicologist blog?)

Here’s a classic Specials song*.    If you want to hear more good ska, then check out Generoso’s radio show.  http://wmbr.mit.edu/www/sched-tue#bovine  Generoso’s Bovine Ska and Rocksteady show can be heard on 88.1 FM midnight to 2 AM every Tuesday night in Boston.  You can also listen to it online (see the link).

*Turns out it’s a remake of Dandy Livingston’s original version.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZWWUQNSV2E

Leave a Reply

